Return to Headlines

Thank You Selah School Board!

January is School Board Appreciation Month!Thank You Selah School Board members!  January is School Board Appreciation Month!

Although we always appreciate their service, it is time to say “Thank You” to the Selah School Board!

Nationwide and throughout Washington state, school districts are currently celebrating School Board Recognition Month.  With a proclamation from Governor, Jay Inslee, the Selah School District has joined other District’s throughout Washington to salute board members from Washington’s 295 school districts and nine elected educational service district boards and thank them for their service.

School Board members play a crucial role in developing policies and making tough decisions on educational and social issues, which affect the entire state.  Board members are also directly accountable to the patrons in their districts, serving as a vital link between members of the community and their schools.  Additionally, Board members set priorities for the District, establish standards for what students should learn, adopt policies and budgets, and work as a team with administrators, teachers, parents, students and the community to foster a safe and productive learning environment.

In Selah, School Board members are:  Jeff Hartwick, President; Jamie Morford, Vice President; Kelliann Ergeson, Legislative Representative; Sarah Michael, Board Member; and Dan Peters, Board Member.  The Board serves approximately 3,700 students, over 400 employees, and oversees an approximate $54 million budget.

“I want to recognize our Selah School Board members for their dedicated service to our students, staff, and schools,” said Superintendent, Shane Backlund.  “Our school board works very hard to provide visionary leadership and governance and is committed to the equitable values of Selah’s educational system.  Board members provide leadership and make decisions essential to our core purpose of providing quality education programs and cultivating high levels of learning for all students.”

Thank you Selah School Board members! 

Jeff Hartwick, Board President Jamie Morford, Board Vice-President Kelliann Ergeson, Legislative Representative Sarah Michael, Board Member Dan Peters, Board Member