Return to Headlines

    Thank You Selah School Board Members!


    January is School Board Appreciation Month!

    Although we always appreciate their service, it is time to say “Thank You” to the Selah School Board!

    January is proclaimed School Board Recognition Month by Governor, Jay Inselee, and the Selah School District has joined with other District’s throughout Washington to salute board members from Washington’s 295 school districts and nine elected educational service district boards and thank them for their dedicated service.

    School Board members play a crucial role in developing policies and making tough decisions on complex educational and social issues.  These issues affect the entire state.  Board members are also directly accountable to the patrons in their districts, serving as a vital link between members of the community and their schools.  Additionally, Board members set priorities for the district, establish standards for what students should learn, adopt policies and budgets, and work as a team with administrators, teachers, parents, students and the community to foster a safe and productive learning environment.

    In Selah, School Board members are:  Kelliann Ergeson, President; Jeff Hartwick, Vice President; Kathy Lambert, Legislative Representative; Jamie Morford, Board Member; and Norma Smith, Board Member.  The Board serves approximately 3,500 students, over 500 employees, and oversees an approximate $42 million budget.

    “I want to recognize our Selah School Board members for their service to our students, staff, and schools,” said Superintendent, Shane Backlund.  “Our school board works very hard and is committed to Selah’s educational system.  Board members provide leadership and make decisions essential to our core purpose of ensuring high levels of learning for all students.”

    Thank you Selah School Board members!  You are appreciated!

    Kelliann Ergeson Jeff Hartwick Kathy Lambert Jamie Morford Norma Smith